Auckland - a brief rugby history

Founded: 1883
Colours: Jersey: Blue & white hoops Shorts: White Socks: Blue & White hoops
Main ground: Eden Park, Auckland
President: Eroni Clarke
Chairman: Stuart M Mather
CEO: Jarrod M Bear



Auckland Rugby Results 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 28/3/19

Auckland v's Others Stats (PDF)    Updated 28/3/19

Auckland NPC Premiership Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 28/3/19

Auckland Non Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 28/3/19

Auckland B Non Champion Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)     New 28/3/19

Coaches coaching records (PDF)      Updated 28/3/19

Since 1976 (the start of the NPC) Auckland has won the competition 16 times, the last time in 2007.

The most appearances is by H L (Snow) White (196) from 1949 – 1963
The most points scored is by Grant Fox (2,746) from 1982 – 1993
The most tries scored is by Terry Wright (112) from 1984 – 1993

In 2018 Auckland finished 1st in the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership Divison round robin series, winning the final in the playoffs.
The 2019 coach is Alama Ieremia.
The 2019 captains are TJ Faiane & Blake Gibson.
The 2019 squad is: Abel R, Adams J, Apisai L, Choat A, Clarke C, Cobb R, Dunshea L, Faiane TJ, Fepulea'i M, Gibson B, Heatherley K, Hodgman A, Ioane A, Ioane R, Kirkpatrick D, Koroi T, Lam AJ, Lane J, Lea M, Leuila D, Liaina D, Lindenmuth E, Manu T, Papali'i D, Plummer H, Rayasi S, Renata M, Riedlinger-Kapa W, Ruru J, Scrafton S, Sotutu H, Suafoa C, Ta'avao A, Tagaloa P-C, Tele'a T, Trainor J, Tuipulotu P, Tusitala D, Tu'ungafasi O, Whetton J.

Clubs that form the Union are:
Click on the names to access each club's website

Club Name Founded     Colours
Referees   Jersey:   Shorts:   Socks:
College Rifles 1897 Navy Blue & White
East Tamaki 1962 Red White & Emerald Green
Eden 1922 Yellow, Black & White
Grammar TEC 2013 Jersey: White, Sky Blue & Black Shorts: Black Socks: Black with Sky Blue Band & Green & Yellow hoops
Manukau Rovers 1885 Black, Red & White
Marist 1908 Light Blue, Dark Blue & Scarlett
Maungarua 2013 Gold, Royal Blue, Green White
Otahuhu   Red & Black
Pakuranga 1965 Orange & Green
Papatoetoe 1946 Red & White
Ponsonby 1874 Blue & Black Hoops
Roskill   Red, Black & White
Suburbs 1916 Red & Blue
Teachers Eastern 1985  
University 1888 Royal Blue, Silver & White
Waiheke   Green, White with Gold collar
Waitakere 2000 Maroon, White, Gold & Green
Waitemata 1888 Black, Green & Red