Taranaki - a brief rugby history

Founded: 1889
Colours: Jersey: Amber & Black hoops Shorts: White Socks: Amber & Black hoops
Main Ground: Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth
President: Robyn Houghton
Chairman: Lindsay Thomson
CEO: Paul J Veric

Website:                 www.trfu.co.nz


Taranaki Rugby Results 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 25/4/19

Taranaki v's Others Stats (PDF)           Updated 25/4/19

Taranaki NPC Premiership Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 25/4/19

Taranaki Non Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 25/4/19

Coaches Coaching Records (PDF)             Updated 25/4/19

Since 1976 (the start of the NPC) Taranaki has won the 2nd Division competition 6 times, the last time in 1992. They have been in the 1st Division many times, consistently since 1996.

The most appearances is by Ian Eliason (222) from 1964 - 1981.
The most points scored is by Kieran Crowley (1,723) from 1980 - 1994.
The most tries scored is by Kieran Crowley (64) from 1980 - 1994.

In 2018 Taranaki finished 7th in the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership Division round robin series, and was relegated to the Championship division.
The 2019 coach is Willie Rickards.
The 2019 captain is Mitchell Brown.
The 2019 squad is: Bedwell-Curtis H, Boshier K, Boshier L, Brighouse D, Brown M, Florence T,   Gawler C, Hall L, Hoeata F, Lahmert W, Mellow S, Milo-Harris L, Naholo K, Naholo W, Northcott-Hill B, Lord J, O'Neill R, Ormond J, Parete J, Perofeta S, Potroz J, Price L, Proffit J, Riccitelli R, Roe X, Slater B, Sorovaki A, Sowakula P G, Stewart K, Tahuriorangi Te T, Va'ai T, Verney R, Wainui S, Waite D, Walden T.

Clubs that form the Union are:
Click on the names to access each club's website

Club Name
 Founded  Colours
Bell Block   Jersey: Green & Gold Shorts: Green Socks: Green with Gold tops
Clifton   Jersey: Cambridge Blue, Emerald Green with Gold scales Shorts: White with Blue, Green & Gold stripes Socks: White with Green Ta Moko
Coastal 1995 Jersey: Green with White stripe Shorts: Black Socks: Green with White stripe
Eltham/Kaponga   Jersey: Black & White Harlequin squares Shorts: Black Socks: White & Black
Inglewood U   Jersey: Maroon with Navy collar Shorts: Navy Socks: Maroon with Navy top
Kaitake   Jersey: Blue & Black Shorts: Black Socks: Blue & Black
N P OB   Jersey: Black, Gold & White Shorts: Black Socks: Black with two White bands at top
Okaiawa   Jersey: Maroon & Blue hoops Shorts: Blue Socks: Maroon & Blue hoops
Patea   Jersey: Royal Blue with White collar Shorts: Royal Blue Socks: Royal Blue with White stripes
Spotswood U   Jersey: Red, Yellow & Black Shorts: Black with Red & Yellow stripes Socks: Red, Yellow & Black
Southern   Jersey: Gold, Hunter Green & Navy Blue Shorts: Navy Blue Socks: Navy Blue with White, Green & Gold band
Stratford 1995 Jersey: Red & Black hoops Shorts: Black Socks: Red & Black hoops
Toko   Jersey: Amber & Black hoops Shorts: Black Socks: Amber & Black hoops
Tukapa   Jersey: Blue & White hoops Shorts: Blue Socks: Blue & White