Ngati Porou East Coast - a brief rugby history

Founded: 1921
Colours: Jersey: Sky Blue Shorts: White Socks: Sky Blue & White hoops
Main Ground: Whakarua Park, Ruatoria
President: Bailey N Mackey
Chairman: Campbell W Dewes
CEO: Cushla Tangaere-Manuel



East Coast Rugby Results 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 4/4/19

East Coast v Others Stats (PDF)           Updated 4/4/19

East Coast NPC/Heartland Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 4/4/19

East Coast Non Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 4/4/19

Stats & other info on East Coast players 1976 - 2016 (PDF)   Updated 4/4/19

3 or more tries in same game (PDF)         Updated 4/4/19

Coaches coaching records (PDF)                   Updated 4/4/19

Players who have scored in all 4 ways in same game (PDF)      Updated 4/4/2019

Since 1976 (the start of the NPC) Ngati Porou East Coast has won the 3rd Divison once, in 1999, the 2nd Division once, in 2000 and the Meads Cup competition once, in 2012.
From the start they competed in the 2nd Divison North island competition and from 1986 the 3rd Division and then to the 2nd Division in 2000.

The most appearances is by E Morgan Waitoa (115) from 1979 - 2006.
The most points is by Elias Manuel (406) from 1985 - 1998.
The most tries is by Jimmy Kururangi (24) from 1979 - 1996.

In 2016 Ngati Porou East Coast finished 142th in the Heartland round robin.

The 2017 coach is Wayne Ensor.

Clubs that form the Union are:
Click on the names to access each club's website.

Club Name   Founded   Colours
Hick's Bay    
Ruatoria City    
Tokomaru Bay United