Canterbury - a brief rugby history

Founded: 1879
Colours: Red & Black
Main Ground: AMI Stadium, Addington, Christchurch
President: Julie E A Patterson
Chairman: Peter A Winchester
CEO: Tony P Smail



Canterbury Rugby Results 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 1/4/19

Canterbury v's Others Stats (PDF)      Updated 1/4/19

Canterbury NPC/ITM Cup Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 1/4/19

Canterbury Non Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 1/4/19

Canterbury B Non Champiosnhip Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   New 1/4/19

Canterbury SU Non Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   New 1/4/19

Coaches coaching records (PDF)      Updated 1/4/19

Since 1976 (the start of the NPC) Canterbury has won the competition 13 times.

The most appearances is by Fergi McCormick (222) from 1958 - 1975.
The most points scored is by Robbie Deans (1,625) from 1979 - 1990.
The most tries scored is by Paula Bale (94) from 1989 - 1996.

In 2018 Canterbury finished 3rd in the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership Division round robin series and lost the final in the playoffs.
The 2019 coach is Joe Maddock.
The 2019 captain is Luke Whitelock.
The 2019 squad is: Ala'alatoa M, Allan H, Bateman T, Burke F, Cameron B, Christie T, Douglas W, Drummond M, Dunshea M, Enari E, Finau I, Gilbert S, Grace C, Harmon B, Jager O,
Lienert-Brown D, McAlister B, McKay J, Mcleod D, Paihipi R, Prinsep R, Punivai N, Ratuva J, Romano L, Sanders T, Siataga S, Tokolaki S, Tucker W, Whitelock L.

Clubs that form the Union are:  
Click on the names to access each club's website

Club Name                        
Amberley 1888 Sky Blue & Black
Ashley 1977 Green & Blue
Banks Peninsula   Maroon & Gold
Belfast 1908 Jersey: Green & Gold hoops Shorts: Black Socks: Green & Gold hoops
Burnham   Red & Black with Gold Trim
Burnside 1957 Red & White Hoops
Cheviot 1925 Black & White
Christchurch 1863 Jersey: Red & Black Hoops Shorts: Black Socks: Black with Red tops
Darfield   Red & Blue
Diamond Harbour   Light Blue with White Stripe
Dunsandel Irwell 1993 Blue & Yellow Hoops
Glenmark   Blue & Yellow Hoops
High School Old Boys 1900 White
Hanmer Springs   Blue, White & Red
Hornby   Red & White
Hurunui 1997 Blue, Black & Red
Kirwee   Jersey: Gold; Shorts: Black; Socks: Black with Gold top
Leeston   Jersey: Red & White; Shorts: Black
Lincoln 1897 Red & Black Hoops
Lincoln University    
Marist Albion   Green & White Hoops
Merivale Papanui 1882  
New Brighton 1921 Jersey: Gold with Black & White Trim Shorts: Black Socks: Black with Gold tops
Ohoka 1927 Purple with Black Trim
Otautahi 1969 Black & Gold
Prebbleton 1919 Blue
Rolleston 2001 Gold & Black
Saracens 2006  
Sheffield   White jersey, Black shorts
Shirley 1917 Jersey: Cambridge Blue Shorts: Dark Blue Socks: Cambridge Blue with two White hoops
Southbridge 1876 Blue & White Hoops
Suburbs   Red, Gold & Black
Sumner 1887 Black/Royal Blue jersey, Black shorts, Royal Blue with Black Top socks
Sydenham 1882 Cardinal & Blue Hoops
United   Blue & Black Stripes
University 1883 Jersey: Maroon & Gold Shorts: Black
Waiau   Black, Black shorts
Waihora 1913 Black & White Hoops
West Melton    
Woodend   Green & Black Hoops