Bay of Plenty - a brief rugby history

Founded: 1911
Colours: Blue & Gold
Main Ground: Bay Park Stadium, Mt Maunganui
President: Kevin J Hennessy
Chairman: Paul L Owen
CEO: Michael W Rogers



Bay of Plenty Rugby Results 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 30/3/19

Bay of Plenty v's Others Stats (PDF)      Updated 30/3/19

Bay of Plenty NPC Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 30/3/19

Bay of Plenty Non Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)  Updated 30/3/19

Coaches coaching records (PDF)     Updated 30/3/19

Since 1976 (the start of the NPC) Bay of Plenty has won the 1st Division competition once, in 1976. It has also won the 2nd Division twice, in 1978 & 2000.

The most appearances is by Greg Rowlands (161) from 1969 - 1982.
The most points scored is by Greg Rowlands (1,008) from 1969 - 1982.
The most tries scored is by Graeme Moore (62) from 1967 - 1980.

In 2018 Bay of Plenty finished 5th in the Mite 10 Cup Championship Division round robin series.
The 2019 coach is Clayton McMillan.
The 2019 captain is Aidan Ross.
The 2019 squad is: Ainley A, Blake H, Campbell L, Cane S, Carroll A, Carter L, Collier P, Eklund K, Eves C, Forbes C, Fuatai F, Geldenhyus R, Harris N, Hollingshead D, Johnston J, Judd R, Karpik M, Lalomilo L, Mafileo T, Matne H, McHugh T, Mua A, Narawa E, Papali'i A, Polwart L, Ravouvou J, Robertson J, Ross A, Skipwith-Garland M, Thwaites J, Tiatia C, Trask K, van den Hoven S, Vella N, Wardlaw B, Webber J, White A.

Clubs that form the Union are:
Click on the names to access each club's website

Club Name Founded     Colours
Arataki   Red & Black
Eastern Districts   Scarlett, Black & White
Eastern Pirates   Green, Black & White
Edgecumbe   Navy Blue, White & Black
Galatea   Royal Blue & White
Greerton Marist 1961 Black, Gold & Emerald Green
Judea   Royal Blue, White Stripes
Kahukura 1903 Red, White & Royal Blue
Katikati 1880 White & Black
Kawerau 1955 Royal Blue & Red
Marist (Whakatane)   Green, Black & White
Marist St Michaels   Navy, Sky Blue & White
Matakana Island   Maroon & White
Matata   Black & White-Red
Mt Maunganui   Green & Yellow
Murupara   Maroon & Gold
Ngongotaha   Maroon & Gold
Opotiki   Green, Blue & Black
Papamoa   Orange & Dark Blue
Paroa   Black & White
Poroporo   Red, White & Blue
Rangataua   Black & White
Rangiuru   Red, White & Blue
Reporoa   Green, White & Gold
Rotoiti   Maroon, Dark Blue & Light Blue
Ruatoki   Black & Green
Taneatua 1908 Black & White
Tauranga 1988 Blue & Gold
Te Puke   Gold, Black & Red
Te Puna   Blue & Black
Te Teko   Gold & Black White
Te Whanau A Apanui   Gold & Black
Waikite   Yellow & Black
Waimana   Red & Black
Waiohau   Blue
Whakawreawera   Red & Black
Welcome Bay    
Whakatane United   Blue & White