Manawatu - a brief rugby history

Founded: 1886
Colours: Jersey: Green with White trim & hoops Shorts: Green with White trim Socks: Green & White hoops
Main Ground: Central Energy Trust Stadium, Palmerston Nth
President: Bruce S Hemara
Chairman: Tim J Meyers
CEO: Shannon M Paku



Manawatu Rugby Results 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 10/4/19

Manawatu v's Others Stats (PDF)       Updated 10/4/19

Manawatu NPC Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)   Updated 10/4/19

Manawatu Non Championship Statistics 1976 - 2018 (PDF)    Updated 10/4/19

Coaches Coaching Records (PDF)             Updated 10/4/19

Central Vikings NPC Statistics 1997 - 1998 (PDF)
Central Vikings Non Championship Statistics 1997-1998 (PDF)

Since 1976 (the start of the NPC) Manawatu has won the 1st Division competition once, in 1980. They have also been in the 2nd Division, for some years up till the change in the competition in 2007. They did win the round robin in the Championship in 2011, however they lost the final.

The most appearances is by Gary Knight (145) from 1975 - 1986.
The most points scored is by Jason Holland (641) from 1991 - 1996.
The most tries scored is by Ken Granger (66) from 1971 - 1984.

In 2018 Manawatu finished 6th in the Mitre 10 Cup Championship Division round robin series.
The 2019 coach is Peter Russell.
The 2019 captain is Jamie Booth.
The 2019 squad is: Armstrong F, Asi S, Black O, Booth J, Crosswell N, Culver G, Galloway J, Grogan N, Hemopo J, Hughes T, Lose B, Laumape N, Leleisiuao P, Malcolm S, Maraku J, Milner-Skudder N, Mitchell L, Northcott H, Pedersen R, Sione F, Smith A, Stewart S, Stone F, Takizawa S, Tawake S, Taylor A, Thompson R, Tofa J, Tuipolotu S, Waitokia Te R, Wirthmuller B, Wyness B.

Clubs that form the Union are: Click on the names to access each club's website.

Club Name   Founded   Club Colours
Referees   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Ashhurst   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Bulls 1876 Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Bunnythorpe   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Bush   Jersey: Blue & Red Shorts: Socks:
College OB   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Feilding   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Feilding OB Oroua   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Freyberg   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Halcombe   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Kia Toa 1902 Jersey: Dark & Light Blue Shorts: Light Blue Socks: Dark Blue
Linton Army   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Massey U   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
OB Marist   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Te Kawau   Jersey: Shorts: Socks:
Dannevirke   Jersey: Shorts: Socks: