Bulls - a brief rugby history

Colours: Jersey: Light Blue with Dark Blue trim Shorts: Dark Blue Socks: Dark Blue
Home Ground: Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria

Website:      www.thebulls.co.za

View/Download Games Results 1996 - 2015 (PDF)            UPDATED

View/Download Overall Statistical Results 1996 - 2015 (PDF)      UPDATED

The most appearances is by Victor Matfield (140).
The most points scored is by Morne Steyn (1,449).
The most tries scored is by Bryan Habana (38).

The Bulls were formed in 1998. In the first two years of the Super 12/14 competition (ie. 1996/7) the franchise was represented by Nth Transvaal known as the Blue Bulls. The current franchise represents the South African Rugby Regions of Pretoria, East Rand & Limpopo.

In 2017 they play 8 home games against the Sunwolves, Jaguares, Cheetahs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes, Kings & Stormers. They will play 7 away games against the Stormers, Cheetahs, Blues, Chiefs, Sunwolves, Lions & Sharks.

The head coach is Nollis Marais. The assistant coaches are Pine Pienaar, Gary Botha, Anton Leonard & David Manual.

Previous head coaches were: Kitch Christie, Rudi Joubert, Frans Ludeke, Heyneke Meyer, Phil Pretorius, Eugene van Wyk & John Williams.

In 21 years they have had 7 coaches & used 249 players.

The 2017 captain is Adrian Strauss.

The squad is: Shaun Adendorff, Jacobie Adriaanse, Irvin Ali, Ulrich Beyers, Arno Botha, Renaldo Bothma, Francois Brummer, Lood de Jager, Nick de Jager, Earll Douwrie, Martin Dreyer, Corniel Els, Warrick Gelant, Lizo Gqoboka, Boeta Hamman, Travis Ismaiel, J T Jackson, Tony Jantjies, Jason Jenkins, John-Roy Jenkinson, Jannes Kirsten, Jonny Kotze, Danny Kriel, Jesse Kriel, Manie Libbok, Hanro Liebenberg, Andell Loubser, Kefentse Mahlo, S P Marais, Edgar Marutlulle, Duncan Matthews, Sibahle Maxwane, Nqoba Mzoli, Franco Naude, Freddy Ngoza, Abongile Nonkontwana, Trevor Nyakane, Luther Obi, Burger Odendaal, Marvin Orie, Rudy Paige, Embrose Papier, Ryno Pieterse, Handre Pollard, Jacques Potgieter, Divan Rossouw, Pierre Schoeman, Tian Schoeman, Jan Serfontein, Roelof Smit, Eli Snyman, Joshua Stander, Hendre Stassen, Gerhard Steenekamp, Ruan Steenkamp, Jade Stighling, Dries Swanepoel, Jamba Ulengo, Ruben van Heerden, Alandre van Rooyen, Marco van Staden, Conraad van Vuren, Ivan van Zyl, Piet van Ziel, Jacob Visagie, Andre Warner.

They finished in 9th position at the end of the 2016 round-robin stages.

They have finished in the top 6 of the round-robin stages of the Super competition 8 times out of 20 years. Their worst finish was last, 3 times in 1999, 2001 & 2002.

In the play-offs they have featured in 3 finals, winning all three in 2007, 2009 & 2010.

Their average finishing position is 6.81

They are 11th on the New Zealand TAB fixed odds to win the competition @ NZ$31.00.
On Centre Bet (Aus) they are picked at 11th @ A$34.00.