Sharks - a brief rugby history

Colours: Jersey: Black with White trim Shorts: Black with White trim Socks: Black
Home Ground: ABSA Stadium, Durban
CEO: John Smit



Games Results 1996 - 2018 (PDF)             Updated 19/1/19

Overall Statistical Results 1996 - 2018 (PDF)        Updated 19/1/19

The most appearances is by John Smit (125)
The most points scored is by Patrick Lambie (573).
The most tries scored is by Carl Terblanche (35).

The Sharks were formed in 1996. The current franchise represents the South African Rugby Regions of Natal Sharks & KwaZulu-Natal Province.

In 2017 they play 8 home games against the Waratahs, Kings, Jaguares, Rebels, Western Force, Stormers, Bulls & Lions. They will play 7 away games against the Reds, Brumbies, Cheetahs, Lions, Jaguares, Kings & Sunwolves.

Their coach is Robert du Preez.

Previous head coaches were: Jake White, Hugh Reece-Edwards, Ian McIntosh, Dick Muir, John Plumtree, Kevin Putt, Rudolf Straeuli & Gary Gold.

In 21 years they have had 8 coaches & used 213 players.

The 2017 captain is Patrick Lambie.
The squad is: Lourens Adriaanse, Lukhanyo Am, Hyron Andrews, Garth April, Tristan Blewett, Curwin Bosch, Ruan Botha, Michael Claassens, Stephan Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Jean Deysel, Johan Deysel, Jean Droste, Daniel du Preez, Jean-Loc du Preez, Thomas du Toit, Andre Esterhuizen, Rowan Gouws, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Francois Kleinhans, Stephan Lewies, Marius Louw, Khaya Majola, Franco Marais, John-Hubert Meyer, Tendai Mtawarira, Tera Mtembu, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, S'busiso Nkosi, Coenie Oosthuizen, Etienne Oosthuizen, Clement Poitrenaud, Inny Radebe, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Cobus Reinach, Juan Schoeman, S'bura Sithole, Rhyno Smith, Philip van der Walt, Kobus van Wyk, Hanco Venter, Jacques Vermeulen, Jeremy Ward.

They finished in 8th position at the end of the 2016 round-robin stages losing in a quarter final.

They have finished in the top 6 of the round-robin stages of the Super competition 11 times out of 20 years. Their worst finish was last in both 2000 & 2005.

In the play-offs they have featured in 4 finals losing to the Blues in 1996, the Brumbies in 2001, the Bulls in 2007 & the Chiefs in 2012.

Their average finishing position is 6.57

They are 8th on the New Zealand TAB fixed odds to win the competition @ NZ$15.00.
On Centre Bet (Aus) they are picked 8th @ A$17.00.